My 2018 in Numbers

Here is my year 2018 in numbers. Looking forward to 2019.

Another year passes away. With each passing moment, we all are getting older, going the same way. Every new year is an opportunity to change your life, your habits, your destiny. Nothing is set in stone. Future depends on what you do today.

The year 2018 was a decent one for me. On studies front, I completed my Masters of Science in Research in Computer Science and Engineering in May. On the personal front, I found a lot of new friends and a new job as a Software Engineer at Eureka AI. I got to travel to Singapore for the first time. I visited my hometown after 15 months. I read a total of 62 books which is not-so-great considering in the year 2017 and 2016, I had read 78 and 71 books respectively. Some of this decrease can be accounted because I was busy doing research for my thesis and stopped reading extra items altogether for 2 months. But, mostly it was laziness.

My mind isn’t what it used to be. I felt very distracted in 2018. Cricket, Football, Tennis and normal life problems took its toll on my mind. I barely felt calm and peaceful throughout this year. Too much of social media. The number of tweets by me in the year 2018 was staggering. There must be more than 1,000 tweets by me in 2018. Also, I started using other social media apps like WhatsApp, Instagram. They do make me feel less bored and less lonely, but lately, there have been just too many distractions. I hardly got any time to think deeply in 2018. However I did stop using Facebook, a major social media site since October, but for most of the year, I was hooked to them.

My average waking up time was abysmal as well. It was 07:09 AM with the least time recorded as 03:45 AM on May 31 and highest waking up time recorded as 08:45 AM on September 16. Compared to the year 2017, where my average was 06:43 AM, I have done terribly bad this year. Hopefully, I will sort this issue out in this new year, 2019.

My health record was not-so-great either. For the last 6 years, I can’t remember feeling sick or having a headache. The streak broke in the year 2018. I was in a hospital in late September 2018 because of viral fever. Must have done something stupid or wrong. No idea how it happened, but I need to be over-cautious in the future. Hopefully, 2019 will be a clean year health-wise.

  • The best TV show I watched in the year 2018: House

  • The song which I heard the most number of times this year: Dress by Taylor Swift (100+ times)

  • Favorite Album of the year: Reputation (Though it was released in November 2017, I still kept listening to it for almost whole 2018.)

  • Favorite cricketer of the year 2018: Sam Curran (England)

  • Favorite cricket match of the year: England vs Australia, Trent Bridge (June 19, 2018). Cricinfo Link

  • Favorite test match of the year: India vs England, Oval test (Sep 7-11, 2018). Cooky’s farewell match. Cricinfo Link

  • Favorite tennis match of the year: Roger Federer vs Marin Čilić (Australian Open 2018, Finals). Federer won a five-setter 6–2, 6–7, 6–3, 3–6, 6–1.

  • Favorite football match of the year: France vs Argentina (World cup 2018) Match. France won 4-3. It was super-exciting. Highlights

On regrets side, I didn’t run any marathon. I didn’t participate in any coding competition. I didn’t go to watch any live cricket match. I didn’t write much this year as much as I normally do. I didn’t play cricket for most of this year too.

My nail-biting habit has gone completely in 2018. The hair-fall problem has been around as usual, but I have stopped caring about it altogether. This indifference has caused me to move on and not worry about it.

I am so excited about 2019. I have got a lot of plans for this year. I have made new resolves. I look forward to taking them all the way. A new year is such a lovely occasion. However, we should never forget the very fact that we sit on a frantically spinning ball of slowly crystallizing minerals that are careening around a nuclear fireball that is itself plunging through the depths of galactic space and new year, calendar and concept of time are all man-made and nature doesn’t really care much about them. Any day of the year is a chance to do new beginning.

Therefore, if you find yourself going back to your stupid, old habits by January 17, 2019, take a deep breath and restart your new year resolves on January 18, 2019. Trust me, It’s fine.

Goodbye, 2018 and Hello 2019….

Happy New Year, readers and Thank you!

Leave a comment